University

My Graduation Story

Hi my lovelies. In this blog post I am going to talk about my graduation everything from looking for my dress to buying it, and then everything from my hair and make up to how the day went. Can’t believe it’s been a week already!

IMG_3640

If you thought that buying a prom dress was hard then think again buying a dress for graduation was equally as hard. I tried on so many different styles, colours, prints and patterns in so many different stores. At one point I felt like giving up on looking for the dress. So firstly I decided I should set myself a budget this way I can look for something within my budget and it would make it easier when I go into stores I had a budget of £50 I then decided to look online see what’s in fashion and what things I actually liked whether it was the colour or the style and what was in my budget this helped me loads as I narrowed down my choice. After this myself and my sisters went into Westfields in White City to try on styles and colours I liked that were in my budget I slowly started to narrow down my search even more there were colours that didn’t suit me or styles that didn’t compliment the body shape I am I then managed to narrow it down to three dresses I went away and had a think about what dress I felt most confident in, the most me and most importantly the dress that complimented me in every way. The dress I decided to go for was a Lipsy London lace top bodycon dress in the colour cobalt. The dress screamed my name and made me feel like me and I wasn’t spending time adjusting anything that’s the last thing you want to do on your graduation when walking the stage.

IMG_2465

Once I found my dress I had to think about my hair and makeup. I knew straight away I wanted to curl my hair there is something about curls that make your special day extra special so that what I went for. My makeup look was quite easy to decide, as I wanted something to compliment my dress so I went for a soft smokey eye using browns and beige colours with a nudey pink lip. I was originally going to do my hair and make up by myself but my younger sister told me not to take the extra stress and I had asked my sister-in-law to do it and my god was I relaxed in the morning I had told her what I wanted and what I liked and disliked as I knew what suits me and what doesn’t but also I had a vision of what I wanted and she created that vision and I can’t thank her enough! I have linked all the products she used at the end of the post (she mainly used NYX and Mac products) the curls she created with using a curling wand.

IMG_2467

The day itself was so overwhelming its unreal after we parked up we went straight to campus centre to collect my robes and to get the family and individual portraits. Once I got my gown it hit me that this day is not only here but also its actually happening! A dream that was on my vision board for years was finally coming true! Once we did the photos we walked towards the marquee which was next to the Venue were our graduation was taking place. We walked through a park which is on campus called Castle Gardens where we took loads of photos big shout out to my younger siblings for taking all the photos!

IMG_2470

Once we were in the Venue and left my family to go to my seat nerves kicked in! It was such a pleasure to see everyone on the course that I have spent the last two years working with (some of them was right from the start) and to celebrate all of our hard work, effort and achievement. Walking down the stage and collecting the most important piece of paper was emotional but I am so proud of all the obstacles I have overcome and everything I have learnt. Once I came off the stage I had a tear or two (yes my make up still stayed put and none could tell that I cried!) all I can say is everything I have done and learnt in the last few years has been amazing and I don’t think I can ever forget it. Once the ceremony was done I took a lot more photos with my family. And then headed back to my uncles house where I took another 100 photos and had a nice meal with my family.

IMG_3630

I can’t believe I have a degree in Drama and I am one step closer to achieving my dream of becoming a drama teacher. It’s a day I’ll remember forever. I’ll just like to say a big thank you to everyone that has been apart of my journey and has given me all the love, support, encouragement and motivation I couldn’t of got my degree without any of you!

IMG_3543

Dress: Lace Top Bodycon Dress- Lipsy London (Available at Next)

Heels: The Collection Black high stiletto heel court shoes Available at Debenhams

Make Up:

Base: Mac Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15 Foundation in shade NW35 and NC15

Concealer: Mac Pro Longwear in shade NC20

Eye shadow: Antiqued, Sublime Nature, Blonde Minx

Eyeliner: Blacktrack liner

Mascara: Extend Play Mascara

Blush: NYX Sweet Cheeks- The dusty pink shade

Lips: NYX Nude Pink lip liner

NYX Tea Rose Lipstick

Nails were CND Shellac: I think that shade was either no 11 or 21

Thanks for reading! XO

Leave a Reply

